National Updates‎ > ‎

Senate Committee Approves Two Bills Promoting Carbon Capture Technology (May 26, 2011)

posted May 31, 2011, 5:59 AM by James Hodina
The U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources approved two bills aimed at advancing technology to capture carbon 
dioxide (CO2).  S. 699, the Department of Energy Carbon Capture and Sequestration Program Amendments Act of 2011, would establish a program to facilitate commercial-scale carbon capture and storage projects at the Department of Energy.  The bill was co-sponsored by Senators Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), John Barrasso (R-WY) and Jay Rockefeller (D-WV).  The second bill, S. 757, introduced by Senators Bingaman and Barrasso, encourages the development of carbon capture technology by awarding prizes to developed 
technologies that could capture CO2 directly from the air.  [For further information: and]